Photo Challenge for CRPS/RSD Awareness – Days 4 & 5:

Standard

I delayed my photo’s of days four and five of the CRPS/RSD awareness Photo Challenge because I had a problem.

Day 4: A picture of your favourite quote.
Day 5: A picture of what brings you hope.

I didn’t have anything that fitted into this criteria at first thought. I really don’t have a favourite quote relating to CRPS/RSD. I have one about writing I made up (One word written is better than a thousand planned) but not for CRPS. As I was trying to rack my brain, I suddenly remembered a song I had taken great comfort in. For a time, I was convinced it should be the anthem for anyone with Chronic Pain. It’s a song by Michael Bublé called “Hold On”. Bellow you will find a YouTube video of him singing it.

I personally feel that Michael Bublé is a very talented singer. The reason I like the song so much, and why I’m choosing it as my “quote of hope” is because of the lyrics. There are some which I find very relevant to people with Chronic Pain such as:

[…] maybe all the plans we made might not work out
But I have no doubt even though it’s hard to see
I’ve got faith in us, I believe in you and me […]

and:

[…] There’s so many dreams that we have given up
Take a look at all we’ve got
And with this kind of love what we’ve got here is enough […]

It’s true that with Chronic Pain, and CRPS/RSD in particular, the plans we once made may no longer be possible. For example, I had always planned on becoming a Police Officer in the UK. It was my goal straight from leaving school. In the September after leaving school, I went for an interview with London’s Metropolitan Police. I failed (badly), but using the feedback they gave me, worked hard to gain life experience so that I would be ready for the next interview. I got as far as becoming a Police Community Support Officer which is not a sworn officer, but have many powers such as giving out tickets, collecting evidence, taking details of crimes etc. They don’t have powers of arrest (other than citizen powers of arrest).

Once I contracted CRPS, and it slowly spread up my leg and the pain got worse and worse, I couldn’t walk a beat anymore. I could no longer pursue my dream of becoming a Police Officer. I was fortunate that my Police force was very understanding and have allowed me to continue my job as a desk based worker in a different department.

The other reason I like this song is because the chorus tells the listener to hold on and not give up hope. This is where day five’s place comes in with the following picture:

Image

 

This is a picture of my two boys (on either end), my wife (on the left), my parents-in-law (on the back row) and my wife’s cousin (in the middle). Like I’ve already said in day two, my wife has had to become my carer and has done so without being asked or coerced. She is always there for me to “hold on” to. So are my children.

I may not be able to get rid of this terrible disease, but thanks to the support of my wife and children, it won’t be so hard.

Leave a Reply

