Surprisingly fun coding

Standard

Of late, along with my creative writing, I’ve been enjoying learning HTML coding. 

It all came about when I was looking into creating my own website for when I launch my freelancing business. I’ve used a ‘website builder’ program to build a website before – I built the website for the Basildon Writers Group Website – but I didn’t like the lack of control I had over the elements of the website, and without paying extra (on top of the domain name), there were some features that were not available. Fortunately, none of them we needed to use, but I don’t like the fact there was no option (other than paying extra).

I found a website which taught you step-by-step how to create a website through WordPress.org, where you have your own domain name, and everything is hosted on WordPress’ servers. It was a very good tutorial and suggested getting to know a little HTML programming to be able to solve some minor problems. In related searches, I found lots of great resources on HTML programming, including 30 videos which teach you the basics.

Ever since, I’ve been writing and playing with HTML code. I haven’t got to the point of writing a full website, but I did get to write a website, publish to the net using a server using an FTP program. Granted, it doesn’t look like much, but it’s an achievement to me. It’s only a couple of titles, a paragraph and a bullet list. If you use WordPress, that’s just a couple of clicks of a button and selecting the correct formats. In HTML, however, it’s a lot more work. As exampled:

<!doctype html>
<html>
<head>
<title>My First Website</title>
<meta charset="utf-8" />
<link rel="stylesheet" href="style.css" />
</head>
<body>
<div class="wrap">
<h1>My First Website</h1>
<p>Welcome to my website! Here are some things I enjoy.</p>
<ul>
<li>Web Development</li>
<li>Chess</li>
<li>Reading</li>
<li>Learning</li>
</ul>
<h2>Favourite Quotes</h2>
<blockquote>
<p>Here is a favourite quote of mine...</p>
</blockquote>
<blockquote>
<p> ...and here is another</p>
</blockquote>
</div>
</body>
</html>

 See? Not so simple. Still, I find it really good fun. I might even add it to my Freelancing job. But first, I need to get my skills up a bit.

Leave a Reply

