Opening days of #NaNoWriMo

Standard

It’s the end of the first week of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), the literary challenge where seemingly insane people take on the task of writing 50,000 words in 30 days.

You may remember I took part in Camp NaNoWriMo in August and came away with the start of a decent novel (well, I think it was, and my writers group were helpful and constructive about the chapter I read them). The November challenge will be a little harder however, as there is a day less than in August. On the flip side, however, I’m still off sick from work and therefore have most of the day to write.
This time, I have decided to move away from fantasy and write a psychological thriller. Without giving too much away, our main character is being hunted by a killer who seems to know a lot about him. There is what I hope will be a stunning twist at the end which will really shock the reader.

The start to my November NaNo hasn’t gone so well however. To start, my laptop decided that it would no longer start, and because of Microsoft’s decision not to ship a disc of the OS with the computer, I had to reboot the laptop with an old copy of Windows XP, and even then, it didn’t like the fact I was trying to make it work, as the wifi wouldn’t connect, the sound wouldn’t work and the battery wouldn’t charge. I had to borrow my wife’s MacBook Air and create a temporary user account to get my scrivener up and running and start to write.
Day two of NaNo was a write off (no pun intended) as I had to spend the day in hospital having a chemical block injected into my spine. I was home by late afternoon, but still under heavy sedation, and in a considerable amount of pain, I felt it would be fair to rest and return the next day.
Day three I was feeling less sedated, but still in pain. But after helping my wife to make a cake, I sat down in my chair, legs up, tray in my lap and started my second day of writing.

To date, I’ve managed to write 3982 words, and I’m only slightly behind on my word count. I am very fortunate that my parents (who are currently visiting from France) believe in my writing and have decided to treat me to a new MacBook Air which will soon become my front line weapon against that scourge of the writer and WriMo: Word count.

I hope that this month will bring me as much success as August did, and if you are taking part, I hope you have a good month too.

Good luck and happy writing.

4 thoughts on “Opening days of #NaNoWriMo

  1. Yay for family who believes in you 🙂

    My grandmother sponsored me this year dedicating it to my great-grandmother who died 21 years ago. I read that and almost cried. If you knew me you’d know I’m not a huge crier. It’s nice to know your family is there for you.

Leave a Reply

