Good Writing Dicipline

Standard

I’ve seen it written many places: to start a good writing habit, you should write at the same time every day for 3 Days/Weeks/Months. But what if you can’t set a dedicated time for writing everyday?
I work shifts, which runs on a 10 day cycle. I start with two early shifts (0800-1800), then two late shifts (1200-2200 or 1600-0200 alternate) then two nights (2200-0600) then four rest days. In the six work days, there is not one time I’m consistently off to set as my writing time (and no, I’m not writing from 0600 to 0800). So what can be done?
There are clearly two options. Either I don’t set a specific time each day, but set, say, a specific amount of words or a time limit (1500 words/day or 2 hours/day), or I set a time, relative to each of the 10 day cycle.
If I’m honest, I’m bad enough with my work timetable. I had to look at it for this blog post. So maybe setting a dedicated *time* to write each day is not a great idea. At least, not one that will work in the long term.
So the only other option is to just write as and when to a specific target each day. This would be fine, if I had the discipline to do it.
I’ve been off for 4 days and have done no writing (other than in my diary and blog). Considering I’ve been stuck in a chair recovering from a CRPS flare up, it’s not like I had anything else to do. I’ve just been lazy, which I hate!
In the past, I must have started a half dozen ‘books’ only to never pick up the pen after the first couple of paragraphs. I’d have a good idea, but never finish it. Part of this is down to lack of experience and technique, but most of it is due to laziness. In the last couple of days, I could have picked up a keyboard and started tapping away, but instead I stuck a film on or picked up the Xbox controller and played a game. **LAZY** sadly, I’m one of the biggest hypocrites on laziness. I hate my boys not doing something because they’re being lazy, yet I’m just as bad. So maybe it should be more “Do as I say” not “Do as I do”.
Fortunately I still have some time before Camp NaNoWriMo starts, but that means that time is approaching fast, and I still haven’t got myself into a routine. So for the next 5 days, I will aim to write a minimum of 1000 words a day.
Here it is written, so it shall be…

Leave a Reply

